Steve Irwin Memorial

Last night, like much of the world, I was glued to my television as we paid our last respects to Steve Irwin via satellite from the Australia Zoo.

I think Russell Crowe said it best, “Your passing has suspended reality for us – it was way too soon and completely unfair on all accounts.”

I was hard to watch Terri in the stands. I feel so bad for her. It was a delight to watch Bindi get up in front of a crowd, be strong, and pay tribute to her father. And, of course, the kicker was the end, where they loaded up Steve’s truck and drove it away.
I had a lump in my throat and tears streaming down my face.

I told my husband this morning that it still seemed so unreal. He said he felt that way, too, but wasn’t sure why a person we only knew through television would cause us to feel so affected.

It’s because he was full of life and invincible. He wasn’t taken because he didn’t know what he was doing. He was taken by a freak accident. And it’s so sad.

So now I can’t get enough of the Crocodile Hunter shows on Animal Planet. Somehow, it just feels good to hear his voice, or Terri’s voice, and see them on television again.
That’s how I know them.
It’s going to be much worse for people who are used to being in his actual company. 😦
Leave a Reply

