La Dolce Vita


Tonight, after dinner, my husband, daughter and I went out for a motorcycle ride. It was the first time that I felt comfortable with what I was doing. I had time to look around and enjoy the scenery, play around with my road position, and practice maintaining a proper staggered formation.

My daughter enjoys riding with her dad. Of course, she’s properly suited and helmeted and booted.

I’ve always been a little nervous getting out of the garage. It’s a lot of maneuvering and a slow start and requires a lot of balance. Tonight before we took off, I sat there for a second and looked at my husband, who signaled me to take a deep breath, which I did. And I was ready to go.

While I was driving, I was thinking about an audio CD I’ve been listening to, “Live Like You Mean It“. Today, I heard something about how people fail to speak to God, even when they know He will bring them comfort. And praying or asking for help isn’t rocket science; just be yourself. Carry on a conversation with God, like you would your best friend.

So on the way, I asked God to watch over our ride, and make sure we did all the right things, so that we’d arrive home safely.

It wasn’t that I doubted our ability to ride, or any one else’s ability to interact with us. I just figured, why not just have a little conversation with God? Why NOT ask for a little protection? There certainly wasn’t any harm in it.

Well, there is no moral to this story. We arrived home safe and sound, and much more happy and relaxed than we were before we’d left.

It was a good ride.

Leave a Reply

