And the Praying Mantis Wins

For several weeks, there has been a huge spider setting up a web on our deck. I’m terrified of spiders, but when the spider is big and it’s staying away from me, then I can cohabitate.. from a distance.

Last night, when I let the dogs out, I noticed a praying mantis stuck in the web. I wanted to do something, but I wasn’t sure how to get the mantis out of the web without:

1. Destroying the web; and
2. Having the web on me; and
3. Sending the big spider running .. God knows where.

So, I decided to let nature take its course, and thought the mantis would be lunch.

Well, either the spider doesn’t like mantis’s or the mantis was a little Houdini-like, because he was sitting on our screen this morning.

Mantis – 1 Big, Fat Spider – 0

Leave a Reply

