The Harley Davidson Factory


Yesterday, we took a whirlwind trip to the Harley Davidson Factory. We started out at 7:30am. The plan was to meet a group at Village Inn, then drive down to St. Joseph, Missouri, stop for breakfast, walk through the Harley Davidson shop, then book it to Kansas City for the tour.

We were part of a group of about 20 bikes travelling south on Highway 75. We stopped after an hour to fuel up. St Joe was only an hour away. Or so we thought.

Two hours later, we were still riding! The guy in charge missed the turn and we ended up in Topeka. Thank God we were due for fuel, and part of our group broke off to get some, because my rear-end was killing me, both feet were asleep, and the wind beating against my head was doing wonders for my neck.

We got onto Highway 70 and rode from Topeka to Kansas City, 100 miles that we shoudn’t have had to go.

We spent about 1/2 hour in the Harley factory, which wasn’t as exciting as one would think, since the factory is non-operational on Saturday. Picture a bunch of big machines, hooks with gas tanks and other parts on them, and a bunch of pipes laying out.

That was pretty much it.

Not having had any food at all yet, we hit the concession stand for the best pork tenderloin I’ve ever had. I took off my boots and dug my feet in the grass. They started to get some feeling back into them.

We decided we were ready to get out of there. We hopped onto I-29 this time, just our small group of 6, and headed for St. Joe for more fuel. This is where the heat and the ride and going 100 miles out of our way just finally rang it’s toll on me, and it was either take a long air-conditioned break, or I was going to fall over.

After about an hour in the Harley shop that we intended to visit that morning, I felt good enough to get going again. A couple of hours later, we scooped our kid up from her sister’s house and headed home.

I put 450 miles on my bike yesterday. My longest trip before that was 75 miles! I think I did really good for being mostly an in-town driver.

Leave a Reply

