I know a hardware failure when I see one

So, after setting up a network printer at my volunteer IT location :), I determined that the new printer had a serious hardware issue; mainly all the pretty buttons on the front of the printer didn’t work. At all.

I left the person in charge of hardware acquisitions a note explaining the problem in detail and referring him to HP for swapping out the printer or having a certified repair person come out and fix it.

He chose to have his son come out and look at it, where he came to the same conclusion I did.

The hardware failed.

When I first got wind of the impending second opinion, frankly I thought, go ahead and waste more time trying to figure out how to fix something the HP repair person is going to have to fix. 🙂

Which they did.

Leave a Reply

