An interesting day

Having just consumed a small glass of margarita and eaten some fish and chips… (well , ok … CARP and chips.    We shan’t call this official “fish and chips”….   Just out of respect for the real tea lovers who happen to hang around here)… I am doing pretty good.  

 My day consisted of blowing apart the assumption that loading Great Plains 10 is actually a complicated task (oh, come on!) and messing around with bluetooth KVM switches (not recommended for the faint of heart, or those who require consistant bluetooth mouse and keyboard connections!)   The day went fast.

I had a few gifts today…  I’ll call them warm and fuzzy gifts because they comforted me.     A bit cryptic, but it makes sense where it counts.

It is COLD here.   This morning, the air temperature was -7F.   The wind chill made it -20F.    It was so cold that they called of school.   They didn’t want the kids waiting outside for busses to freeze to death.       I have to admit, I put on my mittens today.   It was a little breezy, but not terribly.   Frankly, to me, it was the same as any other freezing day around here lately.

Now, I am sitting here writing this, reading through some email, cruising a blog or two and watching this man cook up some octopus and various other things.  

Oh, I am going to be a godmother to my niece.   I had to get a letter from The Church showing I actually went into a Catholic church recently.   Then, maybe in April, I’m flying down to Texas for the baptism.   I only pray for warm weather this time.  Last time I was in Dallas, it was almost as cold as Nebraska.

 One thing I did for myself today (a nice suggestion, courtesy of Gem):  drank tequila, took a hot bath.  

8 thoughts on “An interesting day

  1. punctuation

    You see, due to me being rather odd, I have a jar of Gefilte Fish in my cupboard and it contains Carp, Mullet, Whitefish and Pike. I actually bought it from the Kosher section in the local supermarket when I spotted it because I thought “Pike, wow, we catch 1000s of those in the rivers and canals whilst fishing and we never eat them”.

    But like I say, I’m a bit odd.

    No-one in the UK that I know of would eat carp. They are wholly abundant in the rivers and last year there was a big hoo hah because loads were being caught by local Poles (as in people from Poland, not a thing like a stick) and eaten at Easter. Carp are *deliberately* bred over here and then stocked into our fishing lakes and rivers for a type of fishing we call “catch and release” where you do literally just that – the “sport” is in catching them but you then throw them back in alive to be caught again by someone else – so the Poles catching them was considered unsporting and a bit “beyond the pale”. 🙂

    The actual fisherman’s definition for these type of fish; Pike, gudgeon, carp, perch – is “coarse fish”. The name for this denotes the fact that they are “too coarse” to eat due to the bones and the “muddy” taste if not correctly cleaned and prepared.

    Reply
  2. Lisa

    Bulldog – Lol… I think not. 🙂

    Ian – I can see this completely. There is something odd about carp, but it is widely eaten here. I suppose catfish would be along the same lines. We eat perch, as well. I prefer cod and halibut.

    Maybe the Poles are just hungry. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Fletch

    And there I was thinking God was Omnipresent and religion was a personal thing… And now I find out the Lords running some kinda divine UPS Express service. ( I’m guessing the loyalty system is rather attractive though, a kinda air miles ;o) )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

