Pasta

This is a result of a recipe given to me yesterday, by one of my favorite chefs. 🙂  It’s from scratch (well, there were canned tomatoes involved).   I carmelized onions in extra virgin olive oil, tossed in ground beef, stewed tomatoes, a few cloves of garlic, oregano, basil, pepper, red wine and balsamic vinegar… all added in a particular order… tossing a few bits of pasta into the sauce while cooking to make it thick.

The bread was a purchase from a local grocery.. it was sourdough with cloves of garlic baked inside… whole cloves of garlic. 

I can cook.  I just wanted you to know.

10 thoughts on “Pasta

  1. Lisa Post author

    Apple – That it was! I was even more surprised how my my daughter loved it.

    MWM – Of course you can! Nice to see you here.

    Cady – Pasta IS good. I love it, too. I’m hoping for more good pasta recipes.

    Gem – I’ve been told you’re good at washing dishes, so I’ll cook, and you can clean, and we’re all good, yes?

    Reply
  2. punctuation

    The important point was the caramelizing of the onions and the balsamic vinegar…trust me. Nothing wrong with canned tomatoes – the canning process cooks them very effectively and ensures they are just the right flavor, ahem “flavour” and texture.

    Cooking is a wonderful hobby.

    p.s. Like the new blog layout!

    Reply
  3. Lisa Post author

    Lol… it’s too late. You already used the American version of “flavor”. Next, you’ll be saying “elevator” instead of “lift”. 🙂

    I wish I could get rid of that orange bit at the very top. 😦 Otherwise, the template is a nice change for the moment.

    You’re right.. this recipe would not be half as good without the balsamic vinegar.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

