Cooking Spaghetti Squash

This is what I made for dinner last night. It was a spaghetti squash, which I stabbed a few times and stuffed into the microwave for 20 minutes. There WAS no explosion (thank goodness).

After the buzzer went off, I let it sit for 5 or 10 minutes to cool down. I sliced it in half and used a spoon to dig out the few seeds that were there. Then I scooped the inside with a fork.

I tasted the squash and it was really good plain, but I happen to have bought this salad dressing, so I dribbled about 2 tablespoons on it, and topped it with a little shredded mozzarella.

Alternatively, you could put any red pasta sauce on this, or diced tomatoes from a can (or fresh) and it would be wonderful, too.

Off to the side, tomatoes from the vine fresh from some farmer in Nebraska. They are in-season and very good right now.

side note: Spaghetti squash provides a significant source of calcium, magnesium, and vitamins A, E, and C.

3 thoughts on “Cooking Spaghetti Squash

  1. Jennifer

    Do you know how long a spaghetti squash will stay in the fridge ( before it’s been cut or cooked or anything) I have one that’s been in my fridge for well over a month. The outside still looks good, but I’m afraid to cook it and open it up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

