This Is Your Life

As I drove home from the movie rental place, I heard this song by Switchfoot, “This is Your Life“, on the Christian radio station.   It made me smile, for the words, but also for the way they were sung.     “This is your life”..   the one you’re going to get.   Make sure you’re living it how you want to be living it.      It’s a question we should all look at from time to time, if not daily.   Maybe several times a day.

Last week, there was a book sale at work.    On occassion, I do happen to flit by whatever channel it is that she appears on in the early morning ours, and happen to catch Joyce Meyer giving a speech that addresses an aspect of my life.   If you’ve never actually listened to Joyce Meyer, you might enjoy her.   She doesn’t mince words, makes sense and makes me laugh at times.

Anyway, the point is, a bought a book she wrote; I don’t remember which one, but I do know that when I picked it up and started reading, it made me feel so calm.

I don’t go seeking out religious writing or lectures or even go to church on a regular basis.   I was raised Catholic, but have attended many different sorts of churches.   I tend to be quite open-minded where religion is concerned and don’t have any issues with any of them, or with a lack of believing thereof.    But there are a few people who touch me when they speak, and this woman is one of them.

Coincidentally, I was reading my book, “How to Stop Worrying” yesterday.     A particular chapter mentioned this quote from Carl Jung:  “I have treated many hundreds of patients. Among those in the second half of life – that is to say, over 35 – there has not been one whose problem in the last resort was not that of finding a religious outlook on life.

I know this to be true.    During one of the worst times in my life, losing my job inparticular, it was the thing that saved me, to be honest, in many ways.   I remember laying in my bed at home, having no job applications to fill out or interviews to attend that day, and looking for something, anything, to make me feel part of the real world.. part of familiar territory…   And I found a channel reciting the stations of the cross.   I listened to all of it.     It was so NOT like me, but it comforted me.

I remember sitting in the mall, waiting for an interview at a jewelry shop, asking God for help getting through the day and finding a job.    I don’t mean “asking in passing.”   I mean “really asking”.   I’ve only done this a few times in my life, and I’m convinced it works.    Not only did I make it through the day, but within a couple of days, I had a job, and it paid what I needed it to.

BTW, losing a job is not the end of the world.   If you’re ever faced with losing your job, life does go on; maybe better than before.

Anyway, when I heard the song on the radio, it suddenly occurred to me that God might have some interest in seeing me happy, even if being happy involved doing something I thought God might disagree with.     

It made me smile.   Really.

Leave a Reply

