The Bucket List

The moral of the story, I think is:  “Find Joy In Your Life”… make an effort to do things you didn’t think were possible, and don’t be afraid to dream.. big or small.

The Bucket List made me sob at the end.  Really sob.   And think about what is the most important in my life. 

The movie is about two men from different walks of life who are diagnosed with cancer.    One is a mostly pissed off hospital owner and the other is a reasonably content, introspective, auto mechanic who knows all the answers to any trivia question.     Despite the underlying cancer theme, this is more of a drama with bits of comedy tossed in as two extremely different men try to cope with the hand they’ve been dealt.

The hospital owner is rich and decides to spend the last part of his life giving the auto mechanic the gift of the “big things” on his bucket list (“Don’t worry about money.  I have loads of it,” he tells him), a list you make of the things you want to do before you die.  They travel in the hospital owner’s private jet to France and Africa and all sorts of places.    He makes him realise, completely by accident, how much he (the auto mechanic) actually loves his wife.

I won’t spoil it for you if you haven’t seen it, but in the end, the auto mechanic gives the hospital owner an equally valuable gift.   To quote: “My pastor always says our lives are streams flowing into the same river towards whatever heaven lies in the mist beyond the falls. Find the joy in your life, Edward. My dear friend, close your eyes and let the waters take you home.”  

If you have a soppy bone in your body, a must-see.   🙂    I have not seen Morgan Freeman in one bad movie.

Here’s a video for you, which put a lump in my throat.   I’m such a girl.  I know.

5 thoughts on “The Bucket List

  1. Brennig Jones

    I went to a gig last night and the lead singer of one of the bands said: ‘I wrote this song after I was diagnosed HIV…’

    Going to listen to that song with a whole new set of ears whenever I hear it…

    Reply
  2. Jay

    I love Morgan Freeman too, and I agree – I don’t think I’ve ever seen him turn in a bad performance, and in many cases, he’ll steal the show.

    I actually found the Bucket List quite a depressing movie, but that may have been my mood at the time, or then again, maybe the fact that several people I know have been dxd with cancer recently.

    It did have many truly funny moments though.

    Reply
  3. Kate

    It sounds a great movie to me too, there’s nothing like a good sob story come comedy, to make you realize how lucky you are… I just ‘love’ films like that…
    Cheers Kate x.

    Reply
  4. lisa

    Kate – That was exactly it! 🙂 It was a good cry.

    Gem – Yes, I think I might get that same reaction. It’s more than a chick flick. It has a point, though. But it’s not, “Bourne Supremecy” is it. hehe

    Jay – I can see how it would be that way for you. If it does hit home, then it has a different affect. Some of the good points involved possible remission and one man learning how to be more of caring human being.

    Brennig – Exactly. Which song is this? Something I would be able to find somewhere?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

