Banana Bread – This is how I do it

My mom thinks I might do something magic with banana bread.   I’ve made her swear to never make it without applesauce.     🙂     This is all it takes:

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 large ripe bananas (when they start turning brown, use them in this recipe)
  • 1/3 cup shortening, margarine or butter
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup natural (sugar free) applesauce

Turn the oven on 350 degrees F.     In a large bowl, mash the bananas with an electric mixer.   Toss in the shortening, milk and eggs, and mix very well.

Stop the mixer.    Pour the dry ingredients into the bowl.   I pour them ontop of each other, then blend them lightly (not into the wet ingredients, but ontop of..) with a fork  (this saves dirtying another bowl just to mix the dry ingredients).

Turn the mixer back on, then mix this all together for a minute or two.   

Toss in the applesauce and mix it just for a second or two.

Turn the batter into a greased bread pan.      I like to toss a few things ontop, like white sugar or cinnamon sugar or walnuts, then toss it into the oven for an hour.

7 thoughts on “Banana Bread – This is how I do it

  1. punctuation

    Hmmm if I try to turn my cooker dial to say “350” I’d have to spin it around 1 and a half times because it only goes up to 220! I’m guessing that my cooker does centigrade and therefore the cake should be cooked at 175 degrees c.

    Luckily, our bananas ripen in virtually the same way. 😉

    Reply
  2. daffy

    I must have the same cooker as Punctuation!
    ;o)
    I can’t cook.. I could tell you that I’ll try it but I’d be lying… me and kitchens don’t mix.
    My hubby can cook though!

    Reply
  3. Lisa Post author

    Ian – lol… and you have a fan inside your cooker, as well, and I don’t. There are varying degrees of ripe bananas. I don’t use the ones which are obviously dead… the black, leaky ones. Those are too ripe.

    When I get there, I’m going to put all your tomatos in the refrigerator, just for that. 😉

    Daffy – I bet you do have the same type. I kept wondering why he said, “Your cooker goes to 500?! What are you doing? Melting lead?” Then we figured the temps were a little different.

    Reply
  4. wakeupscared

    Mmm banana bread; one of the few things I bake … I’d like to say on a regular basis; but it’s usually only when I’ve left bananas a little too long and I think “I know what’ll be good, Banana bread” 🙂

    My cooker is gas so I have gas marks… at least, I would do if the numbers hadn’t come off the dial (I really should get a new cooker) – my inspired guesses seem to come up trumps most times though (thankfully!)

    I don’t use apple sauce; but I’ve been tempted to add nuts

    Reply
  5. wakeupscared

    I’ve never really had a problem with a lack of moistness; at least, not that I remember… although, really, the banana bread doesn’t really last all that long after baking 🙂

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "banana" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

