911

On September 11,  2001, I was sitting at my desk watching the stories break on CNN and listening to my coworkers go by saying things like, “The building just collapsed.”   The news showed planes flying over and over and over again into the twin towers.    People in the street were covered with soot.   Paper and debris were flying through the air.   People were walking home… from Manhattan… to wherever they’d come from that morning.   The Air Traffic Controllers were calling all planes down to the ground and attempting to figure out if any of those remaining in the air were threats to national security.   The President was being interrupted while reading to elementary schoolchildren, getting on his plane, and flying to…  God knew where… and then eventually Nebraska.

It was difficult to digest what was happening.

I went home at my normal time to hold my one-year-old daughter and watch the news constantly … for a week… whenever I was home to see it.     I wondered to myself, “How could something like this happen?”, but it was plain later, “How could it not?”.   We had very little airport security.   Funnily enough, I always thought we were safe here, living in America.    Ignorance (or naiivete) is bliss.

The airspace was entirely quiet for days, which was quite odd, being that I live in a city with an airport and an Air Force Base.    If you heard a plane, you knew it was the military, or Air Force One.

Then things started becoming quite unsettling.   Anthrax envelopes being delivered to congress, idiots throwing powder around just to be stupid and scare people, people suspicious of each other because of their nationality, feeling unsafe and wondering what could possibly happen next.   And, of course, the country (and several others) going to war.

Every year, I try to post something meaningful.    This year, it is this:  http://www.cnn.com/2008/US/09/11/pentagon.memorial/index.html#cnnSTCVideo.

This morning, mid morning, I observed my own moment of silence, where I thought about the people who died on 9/11/01, and asked God to bless the people affected by this attack, and many others across the world who have died in wrongful circumstances.

3 thoughts on “911

  1. Bulldog

    I could not post on 9/11 because I was angry.

    I was angry at the evil men who were responsible.

    I was angry at the conspiracy theorists who believe our government committed it. (Yeah, you, Rosie O’Donnel)

    I was angry at the apologists who say we “got what we deserved.”

    9/11 is one of the reasons I work where I do now.

    I am NOT angry at Muslims. I am angry at terrorists, and will be as long as I live.

    Note that I said anger, not hate. Anger can be directed to productive results. Hate cannot.

    Reply
  2. wakeupscared

    September 11th is one of those days that will always stick in our minds and we will always have a remembrance for those who died; remembering those at the time, and those who have died since in the repercussions from it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

