Family Time is Nice

Some of the most memorable moments involved visiting Ian’s family.   I’d heard so many good things about Ian‘s family already, that meeting them was like meeting people I already knew. 

They were all lovely.

One afternoon, we spent awhile with Ian’s sister and nephew and the infamous Bouncer, their boxer, whom I thought seriously about stuffing in my bag.   We admired the garden, the paintings on the wall done by his mother and talked about what we’d been doing since I’d arrived and jetlag and round-a-bouts.

I felt really at home and happy.

Btw, evidently, Fletch knows some sort of Crocodile Dundee move with dogs which calmed Bouncer down, after which he sat down at his feet.

Another afternoon, we visited Ian’s mom and step-dad.  We went through family photos and we talked about various news-worthy items and had tea.  I admired more art on the wall and the beautiful woodwork throughout the house.

Ian’s mum and I talked about making Ian’s tea (when I thought I’d messed it up, she said, “Tell him we both did it”.)   😀    We talked about what would keep Ian and I on the phone for 5 hours at a time, which we have done.   And we talked about their trip to Florida ages ago.

I was touched that Ian’s mum sat right beside me and narrated all the family photos.

Ian’s step-dad is actually Polish.   Actually *from* Poland, not a derivative of some distant relative from Poland.   He’s a master builder and I saw some of his work in photographs, as well as around their house.

When we left, his mum and step-dad gave me a hug and kissed me on the cheek.

It was really nice.   🙂

Next trip, I hope to meet Ian’s dad and maybe some others…  🙂

9 thoughts on “Family Time is Nice

  1. daffy

    I think you left your heart in the UK Lisa. :o)
    You have lovely memories to revisit too.
    I’m intrigued to know about Fletch and the crocodile dundee move. I might need it for Mad Tess my dads dog.
    :o)

    Reply
  2. Lisa Post author

    Daffy – True, in more ways than one. 🙂

    You’ll have to get Fletch to make you a video. First, he’ll have to get a bouncy dog.

    Of course, this could also be a Lethal Weapon move, for all I know. Hmmm..

    Reply
  3. sungirltan

    i have just been bounced on by a boxer named freddy – i love him and want to squish his face all day!

    meeting families is a big deal. a conversation with a friend who’s mother in law tortures her reminded me how lucky i am to get on so well with sheps dad.

    Reply
  4. jenny

    Lisa, I’ve been lurking my way through your love story and I have to say, between your posts & his comments, it’s a daily smile for me. Congrats to you guys, I’m really happy for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

